Synchronizing with EndNote online
You can synchronize your EndNote library with your EndNote online account. In practice, this means that you make sure the references in the two programs’ libraries are the same.
The advantages of such synchronization are that you can work with the same EndNote library on several machines, that you have a backup copy of the library that is always up-to-date and that you can share your library with other EndNote users.
Synchronizing can only be initiated from the EndNote program. EndNote online does not currently have this option.
See how to get started with EndNote online.
How to synchronize with EndNote online:
- Click the «Sync Library» button from the EndNote library toolbar –
- If you have not specified which EndNote online account you want to sync to, a login dialog will appear
- Fill in the email address and password that applies to the EndNote online account
A progress bar will appear in the bottom right that tells you that synchronization is in progress. You can continue to work with other tasks in the program while the libraries are synchronized.
- The first time you synchronize, groups from EndNote online can appear in the group set «Unfiled Groups». If so, move the references to the groups where they belong in the EndNote library. In the subsequent synchronizations, they will update where they are moved to.
You can decide if / when the program should perform automatic synchronizations.
See more Synchronizing setup.